Who are the Synthetic Biology Leadership Council?

The Synthetic Biology Leadership Council (SBLC) is jointly chaired by Lord Prior of Brampton (Parliamentary Under Secretary of State at the Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy and member of the House of Lords) and Prof Lionel Clarke.

Members of the SBLC include:


  • Dr Jackie Hinton (Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy)  

  • Dr Louise Ball (Defra)                     

Secretarial support for the SBLC is provided through Innovate UK by the Synthetic Biology Special Interest Group.