KTN Sector Advisory Boards

The Knowledge Transfer Network's activities are informed by Sector Advisory Boards – each bringing specialist knowledge and experience to help set future priorities and direct activities. Significantly, the Sector Groups provide a coherent industry voice to inform KTN, Innovate UK and others of the major technology and innovation needs and opportunities in their sector. 

The main role of an advisory board is to ensure that the activities of KTN are of direct relevance to the sector, and provide direct input into Innovate UK by helping to:

  • Assess industry needs and strengths
  • Identifying areas of opportunity for, and barriers to, innovation
  • Develop appropriate and timely funding calls

The boards are intended to be industry led but also provide good representation across the relevant sector. They are usually chaired by an industry member and populated with representatives from:

  • industrial organisations reflecting the breadth and supply chain of a sector
  • intermediate and end user organisations
  • academic and research organisations
  • plus a representative from Innovate UK and representatives from research sponsors and Government Departments. 

Animal Sector Advisory Board Members

Dr Alan Mileham Research Manager, Open Innovation and Portfolio Process Genus
Industry members
Dr Theo Kanellos /
Colin Penny
Director of Strategic Alliances / 
Area Veterinary Manager E Scotland & NE England
Dr Alan Tinch Director of Genetics Landcatch Natural Selection/Hendrix
Peter Baber  Chair of SCOPS, Chair of SHAWG, member of AHDB Beef & Lamb Board,  and sheep farmer Sustainable Control of Parasites - SCOPS

Sheep Health & Welfare Group
Edward Sutcliffe Director Data to Decisions Ltd
Dr Grant Walling Director of Science & Technology JSR Genetics

Dewi Jones /
Dr Janet Roden

Managing Director /

Richard Mole Chief Operating Officer Inocul8
Dai Davies OBE Chairman of HCC, Dairy, beef and cereals farmer - Former president of NFU Cymru HCC
Sophie Throup Managing Director RAFT Solutions
Willie Thompson Technical Director Harbro  
Dr Kellie Watson

Global Genomics Manager

Dr Michael Fontaine R&D Manager for Terrestrial Animal Vaccines Benchmark Animal Health Ltd
David Alvis Managing Director Yorkshire Dairy Goats
Jonathan Birnie Head of Agriculture and Research Dunbia Ltd
Academic & research organisation members
Prof. Geoff Simm Vice Principal (Research) SRUC
Prof. Alan Archibald Deputy Director
Head of Division of Genetics & Genomics
The Roslin Institute
Prof. Brendan McAndrew Director of Research Institute of Aquaculture, Stirling

Intermediate organisation members

Marco Winters /
Derek Armstrong
Head of Genetics / 
Programme Manager (Endemic Diseases)
AHDB Dairy   
Kim Matthews Head of R&D AHDB Beef and Lamb

Dr Jason Cleaversmith

Director of Business Development Scottish Aquaculture Inovation Centre
Dr Tom Jenkins Lead Technologist, Sustainable Agriculture and Food Innovate UK
Dr Nia Ball Scientific Adviser – Livestock Science Scottish Government  
Charis Cook Senior Business Interaction Manager - Livestock BBSRC


News from the Animal Sector Advisory Board

KTN Animal Sector Advisory Board meeting – December 2015

The last meeting of the calendar year of the KTN Animal Sector Advisory Board was held on the 9 th of December and was hosted by The Roslin Institute. The main theme for the meeting...

Subscribe to our updates

Subscribe to our newsletters
Follow us on twitter

Join us on LinkedIn

Keep up to date with the latest agri-food and biosciences news, events, funding opportunities and more.

Animal Sector Newsletter

Got a Question?


Email us Email Us
Contact a member of our team